A Poem

If you think you are beaten, you are,
If you think you dare not, you don’t
If you like to win, but you think you can’t,
It is almost certain you won’t.

If you think you’ll lose, you’re lost
For out of the world we find,
Success begins with a fellow’s will-
It’s all in the state of mind.

If you think you are outclassed, you are,
You’ve got to think high to rise,
You’ve got to be sure of yourself before
You can ever win a prize.

Life’s battles don’t always go
To the stronger or faster man,
But soon or late the man who wins
Is the man who thinks he can

C. W. Longenecker

Tags: , , , ,

About Kamina Kapow

I have dimples and friends

5 responses to “A Poem”

  1. Mom says :

    One of my favorite poems.

  2. Sally says :

    Longenecker really captured the truth in this poem. I love it and am going to use it in my OPAC group this Saturday morning. The group is made up of women who have lost their kids thru addiction, spent time in jail for violent behavior, or a series of bad choices throughout their lives. These are amazing women, strong even though they’re broken, desperate to learn how to flow peacefully in their relationships. The poem works perfectly with the lesson on belief windows (Franklin Reality Model). Thanks, Darlin’!

  3. Amy says :

    I was catching up with your butt this morning on your blog and read your letters to your mom and husband. It reminded me that I actually wrote you a letter months ago in April or May and saved it on my laptop. About how your candid and positive words about your journey with cancer gave me strength on my own journey after being diagnosed and dealing with the effects of MS. I don’t know why I just saved it and didn’t send it. But I did, and here I am today in need of some extra strenght or inspiration-and found it! Now-my letter is simple in comparison to the ones you wrote to your grandmother, your mom and Mark. But I am sending it none the less because you are a hero and I want you to know how your words reach out to others in ways you may not have realized 🙂

    Dear Kamina,

    I have wanted to share with you for awhile as I read your butt diaries. I want to thank you for being courageous and candid enough to share what you have been going through. Your journey inspires me. A few months ago I woke with no feeling in my torso and legs and most of my body, and burning in my hands and feet. Followed by muscle spasticity and random tremors for over a month now. And months leading up to this, I’ve had a slew of blah, blah, blah other events I won’t go into detail-they aren’t as exciting-unless you count not being able to hold your pee as being exciting ;). In the end, it was found that I have Multiple Sclerosis and I have now been undergoing fun IV and injection treatments (with flu like symptoms after each injection) for about a month that will hopefully prevent me from being in a wheelchair later in life. Or else my girlish fantasies of riding a rascal everywhere will come into fruition 😉

    Cancer and MS are like creature from the black lagoon (cancer) and a villain from a Scooby Doo episode (MS). You can’t compare them-the villain from Scooby Doo is merely a spoofy annoyance, whereas the Creature is …well a scary creature. I never want to compare our stories as being the same or close to the same – as cancer is a different beast. Surgery is. Colostomy bags are….beasts I can imagine or can’t imagine. Chemo is. But what I can relate to is your bravery and your tenacity. And I think of you and the stories you have been willing to share all the time. I think I can be a warrior too. If Kamina is conquering, well shit, there is no reason that I can’t-because this is nothing and if she can make cancer look like cute, silly, doable, (it isn’t all that, I know) then I have no excuse. And I adore you for your spirit.

    I have about as much talent in my eyelash as you do in your whole self when it comes to painting, drawing, etc. And I have read how you believe talent is not something you are born with but something that can be culminated- well your words inspire me even there as well. I believe when my hands are better, I will create more and in the mean time I create what I can with my words. Or try little drawings here and there. Even though typing hurts, I type or write when I can. And just a few days ago, I picked up my guitar and have been playing a bit. But I made a promise to myself that when my hands are working a bit better again, I will create, create, create even more. No matter how silly. Your art, your photography….it all moves me and keeps me in awe. It inspires. I hope that makes sense. But mainly I just want you to know that your words are so meaningful – far and wide. And mainly I want to thank you! Keep on.

    • clumsythinker says :

      AMY!!! Thank you. I have another friend that has struggled with MS for a long time. I think anything health-wise that disrupts day-to-day life and keeps someone from living healthy and strong is comparable. And really it depends on the person. I use my hands so much for art that I would probably be more upset if I was in your shoes. Even when I felt at my worst through treatment I was still able to make art, and that was what helped me get through it. You are welcome to come join me for arts and crafts any time 🙂 I have a ton of supplies and I’ve already peed on the floor plenty from radiation side-effects. You can pee on my floor any time. 🙂

  4. cutie monstars Schlüsselanhänger says :

    I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get got an nervousness over that you
    wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come more formerly again since exactly the same nearly a lot often inside case you shield this hike.

Leave a Reply

