it’s an ill wind that blows no good*

This was supposed to be the week I was healed enough to start sitting. That was what I was originally told, six weeks from surgery I’ll be able to sit up again. The Doctor decided I need another month off my bum because I’m not healing. “That’s radiation for ya,” he says while putting a solution on my skin that burns it so it will hopefully scab over. The burning lasted a few hours that day, but worse than that was the frustration of another month of bed rest. I don’t mind resting, but spending any length of time without a creative outlet is maddening.Β  I’ve been making art for so long that I don’t know what to do with myself when it’s taken away.

My solution is to turn to poetry and songwriting. I only just started writing poetry last year and while I’m very much a novice I still enjoy it a lot. I have some good friends taking care of my sanity by sending me music they created that I’m writing lyrics for. May turn out to be a hot mess, but all I really care about is having fun right now. I’ve always wanted to be a part of creating a song, and now I have the opportunity to sit around and write all day.

[*credit Mark]

About Kamina Kapow

I have dimples and friends

4 responses to “it’s an ill wind that blows no good*”

  1. Natasha says :

    Urgh! You poor thing. No imagining how frustrating it must be to not be healing at the pace you should be healing.
    I hope the next few weeks fly by for you and that you are able to get on your feet soon.
    Keeping you in my thoughts. xxoo

  2. cardassianvole says :

    i hope you are able to write again soon. And that you are feeling better now. Was just thinking of your lovely face. xoxo

Leave a Reply

