once upon a butthole

Yesterday I met with a stoma nurse to mark my belly for where the stoma will go. She went over different bag types, irrigation options, and general information about colostomy bags. It was difficult to find a good spot because of how incredibly short my torso is, but I like the spot we picked. Now we just have to hope it works for the surgeon. It’s going to depend on whether my pelvic bone is in the way once he gets in there. I spoke with the nurse about my sensitive skin, and she recommended an all-barrier (i think that’s what she called it?) type of bag, meaning the part that attaches to the skin is all the same material. The other type has an additional tape around the edges that would probably bother my princess skin.

For the last 24 hours I have been wearing one of these all-barrier bags on the opposite side of where my stoma will be, just to try it out on my skin and see what it’s like to wear one. I couldn’t put in on the actual site of the stoma because they had to mark that and cover it with tape for surgery. I’m still wearing the bag as I sit here and type this and I can’t feel it at all if I sit still. If I move at all it is definitely noticeable.

After sleeping with the bag on I can report that it’s not nearly as annoying as I expected it to be. I don’t like that it sounds like a diaper when I move around, but other than that I was able to sleep on my stomach and move around as much as I usually do and the bag stayed in place. I will definitely need a belt to wear over it, because I’m wearing a knit shirt today and I can see the shape of the bag through the shirt.

On Monday my crafty friend Casey invited me over to make monkeys. She had the base of the doll ready for me before I got there, and we spend the day making clothes and sewing on hair and eyes to our monkeys. I made mine a green dress, but I also made her a hospital gown so she can join me at the hospital. And, in the spirit of art as therapy, I sewed on a colostomy bag and gave her a scar similar to what mine will look like.

I’m ready for surgery. The thing I’m not looking forward to is the day before surgery when I have to drink a gallon of miralax and spend the day pooping water while not being allowed to eat. I did the same routine before my colonoscopy and it was horrible. (Now everyone go get a colonoscopy!) Surgery will be great cuz I get to sleep the whole time. Afterward I’ll be in the hospital for a week. The stoma site shouldn’t hurt much, the butt will be the painful part. My grandma and husband will be at the hospital every day I’m there, and Mark has a book picked out to read to me. Once I get home I’ve got a stack of DVDs that Shah sent me to keep me entertained while I’m stuck on the sofa healing. Our laptop died, but my mom got a newer one and passed her old one down to me. It’s got internet, so I should still be able to do some blogging and emailing while I’m recovering. I’ll post one more update the day before surgery to remind everyone to be thinking of me.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Kamina Kapow

I have dimples and friends

2 responses to “once upon a butthole”

  1. cardassianvole says :

    That monkey is AWESOME. I am so glad you are enjoying this time & that you’ve found a sense of perspective on things … as always, I admire you like whoa. ❀

  2. Sopes de pa says :

    No reminders needed! Thinking of you πŸ™‚ Glad that your skin of princess standed the bag and glad to see your artistic positive projects. I’ll be thinking of you tomorrow, brave princess!

Leave a Reply

