If it’s not one thing

I put a call in to my radiologist this morning. I suspect the early menopause they predicted for age forty might have started two weeks ago. …cancer and menopause at age thirty. I did some research about menopause online. I learned that it can last anywhere from two to ten years. That means, for me, it will most likely be about fifteen to twenty years long, and throw in a second type of cancer about halfway through there. Whatever can go wrong, will go wrong.

Writing fantasy has been difficult, but that’s the best thing I can do for myself right now. The impossible task keeps my mind busy and away from cancer. It’s the same reason I prefer to stay home and ignore social media and my phone. It’s nice that people care, but constantly reporting how I’m doing and how I’m feeling means that I have to constantly think about it. I don’t want to think about it that much. I want to escape it.

 

About Kamina Kapow

I have dimples and friends

One response to “If it’s not one thing”

  1. Vivian Ruby Stacks says :

    And yet your photographic art is often a brilliant representation of fantasy. It’s in you. You just have to connect it to words.

Leave a Reply

