Day 1

The most I felt today was about 15 minutes of nausea an hour after taking the chemo pills, and throughout the day similar to the feeling I get when I drink coffee on an empty stomach, hardly noticeable if I kept myself busy. I was able to work just fine til about 3:30 when my brain crapped out. Whether it was the pills or the emotional stress, I don’t know, but I started spacing out and found it hard to concentrate for any length of time. I got in a solid 5 1/2 hours of work before I bailed. All-in-all just as I predicted in yesterday’s post, not nearly as bad as my imagination would lead me to believe. I’d like to say anything interesting about radiation but it’s so far boring. I took Gina’s advice and imagined the tumor shrinking while they were laser beaming me.

 I’ve decided to take a picture a day (or as close to daily as I can get) to document my treatment visually. I won’t post them all here, but you’ll see them if we’re friends on facebook. Once the treatment is done I’ll create some sort of slideshow for the blog so everyone can enjoy 6 weeks worth of pictures of my face. If that’s not soon enough, friend me! http://www.facebook.com/coxpalmer

My friends came over on Saturday to plan fundraisers. We have an art bazaar scheduled for either December 10th or 11th depending if we can find a space to book for either date. I will be selling my paintings and photography, and my artist circle will be selling goods including knit/crochet items, handmade glass jewelry, photography, and plenty more. These generous artists will be putting proceeds from the sales toward my treatment so I hope you all can save some time to stop by for your last-minute holiday gifts. Locations, dates and times will be announced as soon as we are able to book a location. If you know of a place in Beaverton willing to host, let us know! If you are and artist that would like to donate your art for sale at this event, please leave comments here and someone will be in contact with you. Probably not me, because I’m overwhelmed as it is, but one of my friends will contact you to make arrangements.

Thank you for reading, thank you for subscribing, thank you for caring.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Kamina Kapow

I have dimples and friends

5 responses to “Day 1”

  1. Gina says :

    I’ll think about your tumor shrinking, too. If everyone you know thinks about it shrinking, it has to happen. Finally, something I can do!

    I’d also like to donate some art. Will some 8×10 prints do nicely? Count me in.

    I plugged “My Butt Hurts” on my blog today. Google Analytics claims that between two and twenty-one people have viewed the blog post, so I’m sure you’ll see a torrent of new people on here. Hopefully they are all artists eager to make donations.

  2. cardassianvole says :

    We all care so much!

    On another note, I’ve read a lot of cancer blogs over the years and your picture-a-day thing is honestly unique among them. Most people, I believe, fear too much to do that. You seem fearless, and I love that about you.

  3. Robyn Schultze says :

    Kamina, I make jewelry and will donate some of my stuff to the benefit.

  4. Natasha Greenman-Ruzynski says :

    Visualization is a powerful tool.

    Will be sending some photos too.

    Strongest lady ever you are. xxoo

  5. Chrysalis Amour says :

    I don’t know if it is too far from Beaverton, but I have a gift store with a whole back room that we are currently turning into an art gallery space and I would love to host your art bazaar if you are still looking for a space! The store (be*Mused) address is 1914 E Burnside. http://www.bemusedpdx.com Let me know if you would like to have it here.

Leave a Reply

